Explore Issue 01 of LOOP Magazine

Featuring Sam Tompkins and Victor Ray as our cover stars, as well as internal spreads from Girli, Jords, Mysie, Finn Askew, Kara Marni and Master Peace

Buy Now

KYLE’s ‘It’s Not So Bad’ Is Really, Really Good

In a world where artists are putting out singles or EPs every other month, KYLE is taking his time. The artist, better known by his stage name SUPERDUPERKYLE, has put nearly two years between his 2020 record See You When I Am Famous!!!!!!!!!!!, and his newest one — It’s Not So Bad. The singer/rapper is known for his infectious, upbeat anthems, and with his newest work, he didn’t disappoint. An eleven-track release, It’s Not So Bad is a welcome dose of vibrant, high-energy tunes.

Whether you’re a KYLE fan or not, it’s undeniable that you’ve heard his viral track “I Spy,” which has surpassed 300 million streams on Spotify. The 2016 song propelled KYLE into the spotlight in a big way, and has proven to be a tough act to follow. However, with his latest body of work, he just might give himself a run for his money.

The album opens with “Personal,” a song about a woman who is toying with his emotions. It’s a slow start but a promising one. Undoubtedly, KYLE’s lead single “Perfect” is a standout on the album. The record’s second track is full of life — and a more upbeat, funky track then the preceding one. It’s the kind of record that makes it hard not to get up and dance, and it’s a feeling that seeps into many parts of the album. KYLE’s fresh, feel-good sound makes his music instantly lovable, and “Sunday” captures a rhythmic sound that will have you conjuring up visions of island living. It also stirs feelings of nostalgia thanks to its easily recognizable sample of Craig David’s “7 Days.”

On the second half of the LP, we hear KYLE serenade a special someone. Track 8, “Optimistic” rings true to its title. The poetic lyrics read as a love letter to a former flame, and are filled with desire to make things work. The single also features the vocals of Dougie F, who is a rather complimentary guest on the record.

The album closes on a high note with “Cmon,” an infectious, jazzy track that will have you up and on the dancefloor (or at least, dancing in your living room). KYLE’s record is consistently fun-loving, and has many moments of brilliance. While it’s not a far deviation from his past work, and is anything but inventive, KYLE’s doing what he does best: bringing smiles to the masses.

You can catch the full tracklist for It’s Not So Bad below.

  1. Personal
  2. Perfect
  3. Sunday
  4. Thumb Thru
  5. Unreplaceable
  6. Love
  7. Shiesty
  8. Optimistic
  9. Eternity
  10. Sleepyhead
  11. Cmon

Fans who can’t wait to hear KYLE’S new songs live are in luck. The release coincides with KYLE’s I Miss U tour, which kicks off on Feb. 10. The run will mark his biggest tour to date — with 25 shows in total and an epic hometown show in Ventura to close out the run. UK R&B star Col3trane and Dutch singer-songwriter Leven Kali will provide support, and tickets are on sale now.

Words by Brandy Baye

Posted On 4 October, 2022